How can we help you?
Image Details:

Aengus McMahon

Latest News

Galway City Mayor's Award Winners 2014 Announced

May 13, 2015

Peadar Ó hÚllacháin was last night announced as Galway City Council Volunteer of the Year, at the twelfth Annual Mayor's Awards for Galway City.

Mayor of Galway City, Cllr. Donal Lyons presented the top award to Peadar Ó hÚllacháin in recognition of his many years of dedicated service to volunteering in Galway City. Cllr Lyons commented " his long involvement with the Gleann Ard Residents Association, and the Salthill / Knocknacarra Gaa Club is an inspiration to all of us"

Other recipients of Mayor's Awards for 2014 include Little Cinema Galway for their support of Film Makers in Galway and Dr Eithne Conway McGee for her dedicated service to the community

Over 80 individuals and groups received certificates from the Mayor in celebration of voluntary activity in community life in the city. The winners of the individual awards remained a closely guarded secret until the ceremony itself which was held in the Radisson Blu Hotel in front of an audience of over 300 people. The Awards are organised by Galway City Council.

The recipients in each of the categories were:

Arts, Culture, Heritage & Cursaí Gaeilge Award

  • Little Cinema Galway in recognition of their dedication in supporting their fellow film makers in Galway City

Residents' & Local Areas Award

  • Lyudvig Chadrjyan, Monica Kubaka and Vincent Misariko for their commitment to improving the environment in their area by developing a Community Garden

Community Service & Social Inclusion

  • Dr Eithne Conway McGee for her dedication over a long period to helping all those requiring her assistance

Older Volunteer of the Year

  • Michael Staunton for his many years of voluntary service with the St Vincent de Paul and the Meals on Wheels Service

Sports Volunteer of the Year Award

  • Agnes Fitzmaurice in recognition of her voluntary activity with the Special Olympics Swimming Team.

Children and Youth Award

  • The Q Club Variety Group for their on-going support and work in helping young people in their area reach their full potentials

Young Volunteer of the Year

  • Michael Mongan for his commitment and energy in working with the Olympic Boxing Club.

Each of the winners received a Galway Crystal trophy and a cheque for €500.GALWAY CITY MAYOR'S AWARD WINNERS 2014 ANNOUNCED