Latest News

Galway City Gardens Shine in spite of Summer Drought - Tidy Towns Garden Competition 2018 Results Announced

Galway City Gardens Shine in spite of Summer Drought - Tidy Towns Garden Competition 2018 Results Announced

Galway City Gardens Shine in spite of Summer Drought

Tidy Towns Garden Competition 2018 Results Announced

The annual Galway City Tidy Towns Garden Competition results were announced today. The competition is organised by Galway City Council on annual basis to recognise the efforts of residents, commercial organisations and public buildings to maintain and enhance the appearance of their gardens, estates, and public areas. The overall winner of the Front Garden Competition was Seamus King, St James Crescent, Mervue. The Best First Time entrant was Bernie Molloy, Castle Park, Ballybane, with Betty O’Flaherty, Forster Court taking the prize for the Best Floral Display category. Brendan Moran, Blackthorn Park won the Best Front Lawn category.

St Pat’s Boys N.S. continued their run of awards for their garden, scooping the overall winner in the schools category. St John the Apostle, Knocknacarra won the Eco School Garden category, and Scoil Roís won the Best Floral Display.

Phase II Forster Court was awarded the Best Residential Area, 20-50 houses. The Maples Residents Association was awarded Best Residential Area (50-200 houses) and Castlelawn Heights / Ros na Shi Residents Association was recognised as the Best Residential Area with 200 houses or more.

In the public and commercial buildings categories, Merlin Park University Hospital won the Civic Buildings category. Connacht Hotel won the Hotel category, with Bank of Ireland Eyre Square receiving the Commercial/ Retail Park award. Western Motors Ballybrit won the Best Garage/ Petrol Filling Station award. In the community category, Merlin Park Community Nursing won the Community Group Project.

The achievements of the award winners were in spite of a drought over the summer months. Gary McMahon, Acting Director of Services, Galway City Council, commented, “Galway City Council would like to applaud all entrants for their efforts to keep their gardens and residential areas maintained, in particular those entrants supporting pollinators through their planting and avoidance of chemicals. The feedback of our Judge noted the sheer amount of work carried out by residents, residents associations and commercial entrants, entirely on a voluntary basis. I would like to commend all those for their care and time, and thank them for their efforts to keep Galway City maintained and attractive”.

Arlene Finn, Acting Environmental Awareness Officer, Galway City Council commented, ‘In spite of the drought this summer, gardens in Galway City were in full bloom and looking amazing when our judge visited. The drought was a reminder of good gardening practices that we can use next summer, including mulching the soil to stop water evaporating, weeding flowerbeds to stop competition for water; using ‘grey’ water from your sink or bath to water plants; moving hanging plants into the shade; not using fertiliser as it encourages growth which needs water; and using a rain barrel to collect water when it rains, for use in later dry days. If you want to go one small step further with good gardening practices, leave a part of your garden for wild flowers and long grasses, to encourage pollinators and butterflies to visit, avoid use of chemicals, and you can enter the Eco-Categories in the competition.”

Continued support and interest in this local competition, which aims to encourage and promote householders and businesses to take a greater pride and interest in their own gardens, is vital for the further development and enhancement of the appearance of Galway City. Galway City Council would like to thank all those that supported the 2018 competition and would encourage more households and businesses to get involved in the Tidy Towns campaign in Galway city. More information is available from the Climate Change & Environment section of Galway City Council, e-mail

Galway City Council will hold the award ceremony in early November 2018. All winners will be notified of the date and time.

For more information, contact Arlene Finn, Climate Change & Environment Section, Galway City Council. Tel 091 536840 or email

Full List of Winners

  • Best Flower & Shrub Beds – Oaklands Residents Association
  • Best Gardens and Public Spaces – Glenvale Court, Clybaun Road
  • Less than 50 Houses Winner - Phase II Forster Court
  • 50-200 Houses Winner - The Maples Residents Association
  • 200 Houses or more Winner - Castlelawn Heights / Ros na Shi Residents Association
  • Apartments Winner – Maria Kim Brown, The Plaza, Headford Road
  • Community Group Project - Merlin Park Community Nursing
  • Schools Best Garden - St Pats BNS
  • Schools Best Floral Display - Scoil Roís
  • Eco School Garden – St John the Apostle, Knocknacarra
  • Eco Front Garden – Aideen Ward, The Rise, Knocknacarra 
  • Civic Buildings Winner - Merlin Park University Hospital
  • Hotels Winner – Connacht Hotel
  • Commercial/ Retail Park Winner – Bank of Ireland Eyre Square
  • Garages/ Petrol Filling Stations Winner – Western Motors Ballybrit
  • Best window boxes/ floral display – Betty O'Flaherty
  • Best Garden in a Council Estate – Pat McPhilbin
  • Overall Front Garden Winner – Seamus King, Mervue
  • Best Lawn – Brendan Moran Renmore/ Murrough
  • Best New Entrant – Bernie Molloy, Ballybane

Residential Area Winners:

  • Bushypark/Dangan/Circular Road: Area 1st – Maureen & Vernon Law; Area 2nd – Michael Duffy
  • Castlegar/ Menlo: Area 1st – Mary Boyle; Area 2nd – Anne Connell; Area 3rd – Maureen Spellman
  • Headford Road: Area 1st – Helen Langan; Area 2nd – Sean & Mary Hynes; Area 3rd – Martin & Mary Lennon
  • City Centre/ Bohermore: Area 1st – Declan & Lucia Ramberg; Area 2nd – Tom Broderick; Area 3rd – Phil & John Holland
  • Riverside/Tuam Road: Area 1st – Noel McGuire
  • Wellpark/ Dublin Road: Area 1st – Nora Forde
  • Mervue: Area 1st Patrick O’Connell; Area 2nd Pat McPhilbin; Area 3rd – John Connaughton
  • Renmore/ Murrough: Area 1st – Aideen Hurley; Area 2nd – Brendan Moran; Area 3rd – Patricia Ryan
  • Salthill: Area 1st – Frank & Kay Burke, Area 2nd – Carmel Mahoney; Area 3rd – Anna Maria O’Brien
  • Knocknacarra – Area 1st – Derval McCormack; Area 2nd – Noreen Harris; Area 3rd – Tracy Mulhall
  • Taylor’s Hill – Area 1st - Tom & Warren Fitzgerald; Area 2nd – Tom Ford; Area 3rd – Frank McHugh
  • Shandalla – Area 1st – Michelle Lambe; Area 2nd – Ursula Lally; Areas 3rd – John Grealish 
  • Newcastle – Area 1st – Pat Colohan; Area 2nd – Margaret Gouyet; Area 3rd – Helena Farrell
  • Ballybane – Area 1st – Bernie Molloy; Area 2nd – Tommy Derrane; Area 3rd – Pat Reynolds
  • Claddagh – Area 1st – Nora & Billy Heneghan; Area 2nd – Noel Coyne
  • Doughiska/ Merlin Lane – Area 1st – Kumar Saidha
  • Rahoon – Area 1st – Alan Sixsmith; Area 2nd – Michael & Noreen Concar; Area 3rd – Catherine Lovett