Latest News

City Gardens Recognised – Galway Tidy Towns Garden Competition 2018

City Gardens Recognised – Galway Tidy Towns Garden Competition 2018

City Gardens Recognised – Galway Tidy Towns Garden Competition 2018

The winners of the annual Galway City Tidy Towns Garden Competition were honoured this week at an Awards ceremony in the Connacht Hotel. The Tidy Towns Garden Competition is organised on an annual basis to recognise the efforts of residents, commercial organisations and public buildings to maintain and enhance the appearance of their gardens, estates, and public areas.

The overall winner of the Front Garden Competition was Seamus King, St James Crescent, Mervue, assisted by his granddaughter Eimear Kelly, in tending the garden for the past five years. Fondly remembered, having passed away since the 2017 awards, were Mrs Breda Ryan, who was instrumental in establishing the competition over the years, and Mrs Maureen Law, who with her husband, Vernon Law, won first place in the Bushypark/Dangan/Circular Road area again this year.

The achievements of the award winners were recognised by Mayor Niall McNelis, who applauded all entrants for their efforts to keep their gardens and public areas maintained. Mayor McNelis noted “…the feedback of the Judge, on the sheer amount of work carried out by residents, residents associations, public buildings, and commercial entrants, entirely on a voluntary basis. All those receiving awards tonight should be proud of their gardens and their achievements – both those who are on the winners’ roll call year after year, and those entering for the first time.”

Continued support and interest in this local competition, which aims to encourage and promote householders and businesses to take a greater pride and interest in their own gardens, is vital for the further development and enhancement of the appearance of Galway City. Galway City Council would like to thank all those that supported the 2018 competition and would encourage more households and businesses to get involved in the Tidy Towns campaign in Galway city. More information is available from the Climate Change & Environment section of Galway City Council, e-mail

For more information, contact Arlene Finn, Climate Change & Environment Section, Galway City Council. Tel 091 536840 or email

Full List of Winners

  • Best Flower & Shrub Beds – Oaklands Residents Association
  • Best Gardens and Public Spaces – Glenvale Court, Clybaun Road
  • Less than 50 Houses Winner - Phase II Forster Court
  • 50-200 Houses Winner - The Maples Residents Association
  • 200 Houses or more Winner - Castlelawn Heights / Ros na Shi Residents Association
  • Apartments Winner – Maria Kim Brown, The Plaza, Headford Road
  • Community Group Project - Merlin Park Community Nursing
  • Schools Best Garden - St Pats Boys NS
  • Schools Best Floral Display - Scoil Roís NS
  • Eco School Garden – St John the Apostle NS, Knocknacarra
  • Eco Front Garden – Aideen Ward, The Rise, Knocknacarra 
  • Civic Buildings Winner - Merlin Park University Hospital
  • Hotels Winner – Connacht Hotel
  • Commercial/ Retail Park Winner – Bank of Ireland Eyre Square
  • Garages/ Petrol Filling Stations Winner – Western Motors Ballybrit
  • Best window boxes/ floral display – Betty O'Flaherty
  • Best Garden in a Council Estate – Pat McPhilbin
  • Overall Front Garden Winner – Seamus King, Mervue
  • Best Lawn – Brendan Moran Renmore/ Murrough
  • Best New Entrant – Bernie Molloy, Ballybane
  • Bushypark/Dangan/Circular Road: Area 1st – Maureen & Vernon Law; Area 2nd – Michael Duffy
  • Castlegar/ Menlo: Area 1st – Mary Boyle; Area 2nd – Anne Connell; Area 3rd – Maureen Spellman
  • Headford Road: Area 1st – Helen Langan; Area 2nd – Sean & Mary Hynes; Area 3rd – Martin & Mary Lennon
  • City Centre/ Bohermore: Area 1st – Declan & Lucia Ramberg; Area 2nd – Tom Broderick; Area 3rd – Phil & John Holland
  • Riverside/Tuam Road: Area 1st – Noel McGuire
  • Wellpark/ Dublin Road: Area 1st – Nora Forde
  • Mervue: Area 1st Patrick O’Connell; Area 2nd Pat McPhilbin; Area 3rd – John Connaughton
  • Renmore/ Murrough: Area 1st – Aideen Hurley; Area 2nd – Brendan Moran; Area 3rd – Patricia Ryan
  • Salthill: Area 1st – Frank & Kay Burke, Area 2nd – Carmel Mahoney; Area 3rd – Anna Maria O’Brien
  • Knocknacarra – Area 1st – Derval McCormack; Area 2nd – Noreen Harris; Area 3rd – Tracy Mulhall
  • Taylor’s Hill – Area 1st - Tom & Marion Fitzgerald; Area 2nd – Tom Ford; Area 3rd – Frank McHugh
  • Shandalla – Area 1st – Michelle Lambe; Area 2nd – Ursula Lally; Areas 3rd – John Grealish 
  • Newcastle – Area 1st – Pat Colohan; Area 2nd – Margaret Gouyet; Area 3rd – Helena Farrell
  • Ballybane – Area 1st – Bernie Molloy; Area 2nd – Tommy Derrane; Area 3rd – Pat Reynolds
  • Claddagh – Area 1st – Nora & Billy Heneghan; Area 2nd – Noel Coyne
  • Doughiska/ Merlin Lane – Area 1st – Kumar Saidha
  • Rahoon – Area 1st – Alan Sixsmith; Area 2nd – Michael & Noreen Concar; Area 3rd – Catherine Lovett