Latest News

Galway City Mayor’s Award Winners 2020 Announced

Galway City Mayor’s Award Winners 2020 Announced


Cliodhna McDonald was today announced as the Galway City Council Volunteer of the Year, for the Seventeenth Annual Mayor's Awards for Galway City.

The awards, which are normally celebrated with a ceremony in April, were held under different circumstances this year due to COVID-19 restrictions - yet the spirit of volunteerism in Galway City was celebrated just the same.

Mayor of Galway City, Cllr. Mike Cubbard presented the top award to Cliodhna McDonald in recognition of her voluntary support for young people in Galway City. “Cliodhna is a reliable, dedicated and enthusiastic volunteer who provides invaluable support to the Galway Special Olympics Young Athletes Club. The benefits and difference sport can make to the young athletes in the club is life changing, and Cliodhna certainly embraces that ethos in her volunteering.” Cllr Cubbard commented.

“The importance of volunteering to communities has really come to the fore in recent months and I would like to sincerely congratulate and thank all winners and nominees for their dedication and commitment to volunteering in the last year” he added.

There were ten other Category Winners awarded, across a hugely diverse range of areas, all making a significant impact across Galway City. The winners were presented with a beautifully handcrafted wooden platter, made by Galway woodturners Ambrose & Brid, from Mayor Cubbard on Friday 26th June 2020 at Leisureland in Salthill.

Over 130 individuals and groups, who were nominated across all categories, will receive certificates from the Mayor in celebration of voluntary activity in community life in the city.

The Mayors Awards recognised voluntary service from 2019 and were organised by Galway City Council.

The recipients in each of the categories were:

Arts, Culture, Heritage & Cúrsaí Gaeilge Award

- Volunteers of Westside Arts Festival in recognition of their dedicated voluntary contribution to promote and celebrate the spirit and people of Westside through the arts.

Special Recognition Award

- Galway 2020 Wavemakers, in recognition for their time and services assisting in preparation for Galway European Capital of Culture 2020.

Residents & Local Areas Award

– Lower Salthill Residents Association (LSRA), for their dedication in leading and supporting the residents in Lower Salthill and the surrounding areas.

Community Service & Social Inclusion (Individual)  Award

- Lorraine Lally, for her commitment to highlighting epilepsy awareness.

Community Service & Social Inclusion (Group) Award

 - Claddagh Watch for their commitment to being there with support at a time when people are at their most vulnerable and in need of support.


Older Volunteer of the Year Award

– Joan Kavanagh, in acknowledgement of her many years of commitment in various different roles in all aspects of life across a wide range of voluntary charity organisations in Galway.


Environmental Sustainability Award

- Dan Clabby, in recognition of his dedication and commitment to improving the environment around him.

Sports Volunteer of the Year Award

– Michael Murphy, in recognition of his voluntary activities and dedication to West Utd FC Galway.

Children and Youth Support Award

– Real Action Kids Club, for their dedication and energy in recognition of supporting children who are living in Direct Provision in Galway.

Young Volunteer of the Year Award

– Jakub Kostanski, for his dedication in supporting youth activities in a number of roles including the Westside Arts Festival committee, Order of Malta, Galway City representative on the National Executive Council for Galway City Comhairle na nÓg.

Galway City Council Volunteer of the Year Award

– Cliodhna McDonald, for her dedication and support to the Galway Special Olympics Young Athletes Club.


Each of the winners received a beautifully handcrafted wood turned platter, decorated with the Galway City Council logo, made by Ambrose & Brid as well as a cheque for €500.