

Celebrating voluntary activity in community life in Galway City Ag ceiliúradh gníomhaíochtaí deonacha i saol an phobail i gCathair na Gaillimhe





The Mayor's Awards Gradaim an Mhéara





These awards are an annual opportunity to celebrate inspirational local people and groups who go above and beyond to support our community.

Galway City Council welcomes you all to the 22nd Mayor's Awards

You are welcome to the Galway Bay Hotel, Thursday 1st May 2025, for the Presentation Ceremony of

The Mayor's Awards

The format for the evening is as follows:

6.00 p.m. - 7.00 p.m. Attendees sign in (at foyer).

7.00 p.m Guests and nominees are seated.

7.00 p.m. - 8.30 p.m. Welcome and presentation of Certificates to each nominee by the Mayor

of the City of Galway, Cllr. Peter Keane.

8.30 p.m. - 8.40 p.m. Refreshments Served.

8.40 p.m. - 9.30 p.m. Announcements and presentation of awards to winners in each category:

Arts, Culture, Heritage & Cúrsaí Gaeilge Award

Residents and Local Areas Award

Community Service and Social Inclusion Award (Individual & Group

Award)

Senior Citizen Volunteer of the Year Award

Environmental Sustainability Award

Sports Volunteer of the Year Award

Children and Youth Support Award

The Galway City Council Volunteer of the Year Award

9.30pm Awards Ceremony Concludes.

Photographs from tonight will be available to view at www.mcmphoto.com



The Mayor's Awards Nominees

Arts, Culture, Heritage & Cúrsaí Gaeilge Award 126 Artist – Run Gallery and Studios

Africa United Galway

Bernie Rowan
Caroline Stanley

Galway Film Society

Galway Hooker Sailing Club

Galway Street Ambassadors

Residents and Local Areas Award

Donal Lynch

Living My Life Project

Merlin Woods Allotments Group

Community Service and Social Inclusion Award (Individual Award) Ademoye Adeyemisi Khadyat (Yemmi)

Angela Brown
Anne Loughnane

Aoife Kerans

Carol Duffy and Brian Hickey

Catherine Corley Cullen Gibbons

Declan McGuinness

Éle Quinn Fiona Murray

Gloria Odafi

Godfred Tsagli and Vivian Datsa

Ivie Amedu

Ivor Gleeson

Joe Kennelly

GIAF Volunteers

Harmony Ukrainian Choir

Ian O'Dalaigh

Jennifer Ahern

Raisa Yankovska

Ryan Crowell

Tahsin Ibne Kamal

Johanna Downes

Joyce Mathias

Lana Ali Abdalla

Larry Ovie

Louie Maguire

Lynsey Folan

Mary McCann

Sinead McKiernan

Pamela Zokli

Ryan Crowell

Saibh Egan

Sarah Caulfield

Susan Flaherty

Shafiqullah Daud Zarif

Zandile Ndlovu

Community Service and Social Inclusion Award (Group Award Ballinfoile Castlegar Lunch Club

Blood Bike West

Cancer Care West Support Volunteers

COPE Galway Street Outreach

Croi na Gaillimhe

Eastside Community Drama

Galway Healthcare Workers for

Palestine

Galway Hospice Foundation Volunteers

Galway Mountain Rescue Team

GOCOM Radio

Heartfulness Ireland

Knocknacarra Parkrun

Mervue Lunch Club Volunteers

Rackets for All

Teach Solais LGBT+ Resource

Centre Volunteers

Ukrainians Helping Ukrainians

Galway (UHUG)

University of Galway Parkrun

Victim Support at Court

Westside Coffee Morning Group

Westside Junior Parkrun

WRDATF Recovery Supports

Peer Volunteers

Youth Access Group –

Youth Work Ireland Galway

Senior Citizen
Volunteer of the Year
Award

Ballybane Contenders Community Group

Bernadette Colgan
Betty O'Flaherty
Emily Durnin
Gerald Molloy

John O'Sullivan

Larysa Svadeba Nancy Donohue Rose Foley

Stephen Hosty Valerie Pointer

Environmental Sustainability Award

Galway's Westend

Tuatha of Terryland Forest Park

Sports Volunteer of the Year Award

Alma Whelan Dara Meaney David Henry Sarah Caulfield Teo Cuiche

Children and Youth Support

Childline Galway Volunteer Team Chris Sherlock

Galway Sea Scouts
Michelle Clarke

Moirin O'Donovan
Real Action Kids Club
Tekla Gugeshasvili
Westside Junior Parkrun



The Mayor's Awards Winners 2024

